Hope City..

26Aug10


I recently got to experience IHOP’s inner city prayer room Hope City.  Hope City is place where the homeless, addicted, and poor can come and find a place of hope. As well as being a Monday-Friday 12 hours a day prayer room they also have a soup kitchen open during the day available for those that wish to come and eat food that people have prepared and donated for Hope City. When I first got offered to come and experience Hope City, I got asked to play drums for Susanna Erwin (violin player for Justin Rizzo) who was leading a team 8am on Monday and Friday mornings. I have never really heard that much about Hope City before then, but the way she explained it was breath taking because she told me I would be playing in front of the poor, pimps, prostitutes, homeless, gang members, and more. I have never really been i a place of worship with people who are living that kind of lifestyle. I was honestly excited to come and be a light to those who come to the prayer meeting and experience the power of the Holy Spirit. The first day that I got to play, there was actually no one in the room. The 8am on Monday and Friday mornings is the set where least amount of people attend. We did what we call  a Worship With The Word set. Which means is where we take a passage of scripture and sing the biblical truths of who God is and what his promises are. But being able to play and help lead prayer meetings down there is such an honor because I can be a light to those who don’t know Jesus as their personal savior and I could help them understand why He is a good father and share what he has done in my life and what things he has preserved me from.

If you ever get a chance please make a trip down to Hope City. Help with worship teams, being an intercessor or help with the soup kitchen. If those don’t  interest you I’m sure there are other ways you can serve. Fill free to e-mail hopecity@ihop.org if you have any questions.

Many blessings,

Jesse



No Responses Yet to “Hope City..”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment